Thirteen schools in Michigan have received National Blue Ribbon honors for 2017.

The program recognizes public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students achieve very high learning standards or are making notable improvements in closing the achievement gap.

The program is in its 35th year and more than 8,500 schools have been named National Blue Ribbon Schools. An awards ceremony is scheduled Nov. 6-7 in Washington.

Education Secretary Betsy DeVos says “National Blue Ribbon Schools are active demonstrations of preparing every child for a bright future.”

The Michigan schools are in Rochester Hills, Byron Center, Otsego, Boon, Canton, Saginaw, Dearborn, Ann Arbor, Grosse Pointe, Jenison and St. Joseph. See them below:

  • Brewster Elementary School
  • Gallimore Elementary School
  • Hamlin Elementary School
  • Countryside Elementary School
  • Handley Elementary School
  • Iris Becker Elementary School
  • Dix Street Elementary School
  • John Allen Elementary School
  • Lewis E. Maire Elementary School
  • Lincoln School (Saint Josepth)
  • Pinewood Elementary School
  • Rochester Adams High School
  • Forest View Elementary School